One day, I woke up late for work and headed out of the house extremely late. I had 30 minutes to get from door to door, and usually, this is never enough time. But, low and behold, the metro got me to work four minutes early!
As soon as I arrived on the platform, the train came. It ran smoothly. I transferred to the next train. Everything ran smoothly!
A once in a lifetime phenomenon that I just had to share.
I've been commuting in Washington, DC for almost four years, and I thought that it was about time to share my woes with the world. Please feel free to post questions, comments, or grievances (about the DC metro system, other metro systems, or your commute). If this blog gains some traction, I'll ask commenter to post on this blog as a special guest. And, if all things go great, maybe we can actually see a metro system where quality increases and not just the price.
Friday, August 13, 2010
Wednesday, August 4, 2010
Metro price hikes: I have a few minor complaints, so please fix it!
As many of us know, metro has yet again increased the cost of a metro ride. And, what we usually see is the price go up and the quality go down (or stay the same). So, these are a few things that I've noticed on metro that should be fixed since we have to pay more money.
Please feel free to add to the list.
FYI. I heard on the news today that the price increase affected people's smart trip cards not being read properly. Another thing to add to the list = another price hike. DC Metro, please get your act together and stop ignoring and adding to the problem.
- The escalator at Gallery Place Chinatown--the one that takes you up from the green/yellow platform to the red platform. It has been broken for almost a month now, and it really slows up the commute.
- The escalator at DuPont Circle North Exit. That one breaks down every time it rains. And, it has been broken down for a few weeks now.
- The elevators. I don't use the elevator, but there are always outages everywhere.
- The air conditioning on the platform. If you're gonna make us wait a long time for a train even though it's rush hour, can we at least have the AC working on the platforms.
- The air conditioning on the trains, in every car. I can't tell you the amount of times I've been on a train that had no AC, and with this heat and humidity, it is much needed.
- The amount of "sick customers", which is code for "We screwed up somewhere." I don't experience this as often as before, but it seems to always happen during rush hour.
Please feel free to add to the list.
FYI. I heard on the news today that the price increase affected people's smart trip cards not being read properly. Another thing to add to the list = another price hike. DC Metro, please get your act together and stop ignoring and adding to the problem.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)