Many of us try to get to our destination, just to get stuck behind some slow person or almost get stuck on the train because someone decides to stand at the door. This has happened to me several times, making me suffer the misery of the hot underground metro station. Here are a few tips of metro etiquette. I'm thinking of printing this and handing it out to people, but I thought I'd share it with my small audience first to get your reactions.
- Do not hop on the metro and automatically stand in front of the door. Most likely there are other people behind you that are trying to get on the train.
- Don't stand in front of the door when people are trying to get off. You slow down the flow of traffic and cause people to miss their stop or not get on the train.
- Please do move to the center of the car... Expeditiously. I can guarantee you that you will get off the train at your stop, even if you are at the center of the car.
- Do not form a line where it is not needed. (I only say this because lines bother me and often stop the flow of traffic.
- When someone says "excuse me", try to move. (I'm not a rude person, but I have to push people all of the time because they don't respond to my politeness.)
- Try to place your bag under the seat in front of you. There is a bit of space for some smaller luggage pieces to go under the seat instead of in the aisles. (My carrier bag fits.) This frees up a lot of space.
- Be aware of your surroundings. You are not the only person on the train so be aware that people will get off and on at various stops. Be aware that you may have to move to allow people to get off an on the train. And, please be courteous when doing so. Don't just look at people like they are stupid because you are in the way.
- Tip for tourists especially... Map out your exact route so you won't get in people's way. And please do not get off the escalator and stop to admire the scenery. There are people behind you that are trying to get out of the metro station too.
I'm up to eight right now, and I'm sure I'll be adding some at some pint, but please help me out by adding to the list or commenting on the list already published.